Wednesday, October 26, 2011

In Case You Missed It!

2011 Winners of the Jane Addams Children's Book Awards Announced

The Jane Addams Children's Book Awards are given annually to the children's books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence.

The Jane Addams Children's Book Awards have been presented annually since 1953 by the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF) and the Jane Addams Peace Association. Beginning in 1993, a Picture Book category was created. Honor books may be chosen in each category. This year's winners are:

Books for Younger Children
Author Linda Glaser and Illustrator Claire A. Nivola for Emma's Poem: The Voice of the Statue of Liberty.

Books for Older Children
Author Linda Sue Park for A Long Walk to Water.

Honors for Books for Younger Children
Authors Calvin Alexander Ramsey and Gwen Strauss and illustrator Floyd Cooper for Ruth and the Green Book. And, author Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrator Brian Pinkney for Sit-In: How Four Friends Stood Up by Sitting Down.

Honors for Books for Older Children
Jewell Parker Rhodes for Ninth Ward and  Larry Dane Brimner for Birmingham Sunday.