Tuesday, January 11, 2011

ALA Announces 2011 Youth Media Awards

The NCBLA Congratulates All Winning Authors and Illustrators

Yesterday the American Library Association announced the winners of its prestigious series of awards that honor books, videos, and audiobooks published for children and young adults in the previous year.

The John Newbery Medal, which recognizes the most distinguished contribution to children's literature, was awarded to "Moon over Manifest,” written by Clare Vanderpool and published by Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal, which honors the most distinguished American picture book for children, was awarded to “A Sick Day for Amos McGee,” illustrated by Erin E. Stead. The book was written by Philip C. Stead, and is a Neal Porter Book, published by Roaring Brook Press, a division of Holtzbrinck Publishing.
The Michael L. Printz Award (for excellence in literature written for young adults) was awarded to “Ship Breaker,” written by Paolo Bacigalupi and published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

The Coretta Scott King Author Book Award, which recognizes an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults, was awarded to“One Crazy Summer,” written by Rita Williams-Garcia. The book is published by Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

The Coretta Scott King Illustrator Book Award, was awarded to “Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave,” illustrated by Bryan Collier and written by Laban Carrick Hill. The book is published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, Inc.

Congratulations to these talented authors and illustrators!

Read the complete list of awards and winners on the ALA website

Puzzled by the array of awards? Read "A Guide to Children's Books: Just What Do Those Awards Mean?" on the NCBLA's website, www.thencbla.org.