Friday, July 31, 2009

Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Finalists Announced

ALAN Announces Finalists for
Young Adult Fiction Award

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) recently announced the finalists for the inaugural Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. The honored titles for 2009 (in alphabetical order by title) are:

After Tupac and D Foster, by Jacqueline Woodson (Putnam)

Graceling, by Kristin Cashore (Harcourt)

The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)

Me, The Missing, and the Dead, by Jenny Valentine (HarperCollins)

My Most Excellent Year: A Novel of Love, Mary Poppins, and Fenway Park, by Steve Kluger (Dial)

This year’s winning title will be announced at an open reception and reading at the 2009 ALAN Workshop in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of young adult author, Amelia Elizabeth Walden, the award allows for the sum of $5,000 to be presented annually to the author of a young adult title selected by the ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Committee as demonstrating a positive approach to life, widespread teen appeal, and literary merit.

Learn more on the ALAN website.

No comments: